September 2: Congregation of the Mission Martyrs of the French Revolution

by | Sep 1, 2019 | Congregation of the Mission, Formation

191 “September Martyrs” were killed during the French Revolution on September 2 and 3, 1792 after they refused to take an oath that would have placed them under the authority of the state. Five Vincentian Priests were among those beatified by the Church: Blessed Louis-Joseph François, Blessed Jean-Henri Gruyer, Blessed Pierre-René Rogue, Blessed Jean-Charles Caron, and Blessed Nicolas Colin.

Learn more about what happened, in this presentation:

Download PDF

Download PPT
More details about each of the five martyrs can be found in this earlier .famvin article.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This