latest news on COVID-19

24 Hours for World Peace vigil

by | Jan 1, 2014 | Justice and Peace

The 24 Hours for World Peace vigil 24 hours for peace

It is presently midnight Greenwich Time. To everyone who is already celebrating the New Year, we wish you a happy one, rich with peace initiatives!

The 24 Hours for World Peace vigil will begin in 5 hours, at midnight in Montreal, Canada. Please consult the time zones at the bottom of this page to identify the time when you will receive the first release. We invite groups and organizations to propose another city to be the official host for 24 Hours for World Peace next year. That way the vigil will change time zones from one year to the next.

Without further ado, we now present our eminent guest speakers in the name of peace, Jean Vanier and Ruth Patterson, who accepted to deliver their message at the opening of the vigil:

Watch Jean Vanier’s message

Watch Ruth Patterson’s message

The reason for the creation of 24 Hours for World Peace is to favour connections for peace. Participate, respond to the calls and share you own peace messages and initiatives!
We hope that for 2014, our biggest collective New Year’s resolution will be one for World Peace!

The 24 Hours for World Peace team

Time at which messages will begin circulating in your area:
Honolulu: 7 p.m. (2013-12-31)
San Francisco, Los Angeles, Vancouver, Tijuana: 9 p.m. (2013-12-31)
Calgary, Denver: 10 p.m. (2013-12-31)
Winnipeg, Chicago, Mexico: 11 p.m. (2013-12-31)
Montreal, New-York, Lima: Midnight (2013-12-31 / 2014-01-01)
Halifax: 1 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Buenos Aires: 2 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Brasilia: 3 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Azores: 4 a.m. (2014-01-01)
London, (U.K.) Reykjavik, Casablanca, Dakar: 5 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Paris, Berlin, Stockholm, Oslo, Algiers: 6 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Bucharest, Beirut, Cairo, Tripoli, Gaza, Jerusalem, Le Cap, Kinshasa: 7 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Medina, Lusaka, Nairobi: 8 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Moscow, Dubai: 9 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Kabul: 9:30 a.m. (2014-01-01)
New Delhi: 10:30 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Surabaya: 12 a.m. (2014-01-01)
Beijing, Singapore, Taipei, Manila: 1 p.m. (2014-01-01)
Tokyo, Kuala Lumpur: 2 p.m. (2014-01-01)
Darwin: 2:30 p.m. (2014-01-01)
Melbourne: 4 p.m. (2014-01-01)

Share this event in your networks!

 


Tags:

0 Comments

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This